Prizes Nominations

We are soliciting nominations for recipients of the SCES2019 Prizes for significant contributions to the study of strongly correlated electron systems.

Following the tradition established at SCES 2013 in Tokyo three early-career Prizes will be awarded in Okayama during SCES 2019:

The Nevill F. Mott Prize will be awarded to a person who has made significant contributions to the theory of strongly correlated electron systems.

The Bryan R. Coles Prize will be awarded to a person who has made significant contributions to the experimental study or discovery of strongly correlated electron materials and phenomena.

The Bernard Coqblin Prize will be awarded to a person who has made significant contributions to the physics of strongly correlated electron systems achieved in a country where the field of SCES is not well established or who has made significant contributions to establish vigorous activity of SCES research in such a country. In this case the early career status of prospective recipient is not a necessary condition.

Each prize carries a monetary award of 2000 Euro and each winner is expected to deliver a talk at SCES2019. Up to two SCES prizes are sponsored by Taylor & Francis. The winner of a prize sponsored by Taylor & Francis is expected to contribute by an article related to the award-winning research to Philosophical Magazine.

Nominations, no more than two pages in length, should explain the importance of the work upon which the nomination is based, state explicitly the prize for which the candidate is being nominated, and include the date of the candidate's PhD. The nominees are to be early career researchers being active in research no more than 8 years past PhD. The nomination together with supporting materials, for example, a one-page CV of the candidate and one or two papers related to the nomination should be emailed to by May 15, 2019.

SCES 2019 Prize Committee

V. Sechovsky (Chair: Prague)
M. Aronson (Vancouver)
M. Grosche (Cambridge)
C. Pépin (Orsay)
P. Riseborough (Philadelphia)
H. Harima (Kobe)
H. Amitsuka (Sapporo)

Previous SCES Prizes winners:

The Nevill F. Mott Prize:
2013 - Emanuel Gull (University of Michigan)
2014 - Max Metlitski (University of California, Santa Barbara)
2016 - Hosho Katsura (University of Tokyo)
2017 - Lucile Savary (MIT)
The Bryan R. Coles Prize:
2013 - Bum Joon Kim (Argonne National Laboratory)
2014 - David LeBoeuf (CNRS Grenoble)
2016 - Riccardo Comin (University of Toronto/MIT)
2017 - Milan P. Allan (Leiden Institute of Physics)
The Bernard Coqblin Prize:
2013 - Elisa M. Baggio Saitovitch (Brazilian Center for Physics Research, Rio de Janeiro)
2014 - Andre Strydom (University of Johannesburg)
2016 - no awardee
2017 - Julián G. Sereni (Centro Atómico Bariloche, Argentina)